Freshman Archives

Check out past assignments, lessons, artifacts, etc.

Z_home.pngZ_Freshman.png


Quarter 2 Week 1: (Oct 25 - 29)


File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found


Odyssey Backgroup Presentation...It may take a minute to load once you click the link. Be patient!



Quarter 2 Week 2: (Nov 1 - 4)



File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found




Quarter 2 Week 3: (Nov 8-12)


Monday, November 8:

Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Read and watch The Odyssey Books 9-10.



Tuesday, November 9:

Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Read/watch the Odyssey Books 11-12




Wednesday November 10:


Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:

1. Finish The Odyssey- Watch books 13-24

2. Timeline assignment, due Friday
File Not Found
File Not Found




Thursday, November 11:

Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:

1. Work day for timeline assignment in library
File Not Found
File Not Found





Friday, November 12:

Due Today- "Timeline Assignment"
File Not Found
File Not Found


Instructional Time:

1. Combine Slides to create a master class timline chronicling Odysseus' wanderings.




Monday, November 15:

Due Today- Timeline Assignments
File Not Found
File Not Found




Instructional Time:

1. Introduce and give options for your Odyssey Epic Artifacts. These will be due Tuesday the 23rd
File Not Found
File Not Found


2. For tomorrow, you will need to return your Artifact Choices sheet, completely filled out. Due Tuesday/ Tomorrow
File Not Found
File Not Found


3. The Following 6 files are elements of your Artifact Depending on which Artifact Option you chose.
File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found



Tuesday, November 16:

Due Today- Artifact Choices Sheet


Instructional Time:


1. Review Elements of Fiction

2. Review Elements of Epic Poetry



Wednesday November 17:


Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Artifact Workday



Thursday, November 18:

Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Artifact Workday




Friday, November 19:


Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Artifact workday




Monday, November 29:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:

1. Introduce Research Paper and take notes over researching

2. If you missed class, use the PowerPoint Presentation below to complete the notes sheet below.
File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found



Tuesday, November 30:

Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. In Media Center for Noodle Tools, databases, and Odyssey Pathfinder with Mrs. Tomlinson

2. Use the pathfinder file below to help guide and refine your search for information.
File Not Found
File Not Found




Wednesday December 1:


Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. In Media Center for Noodle Tools, databases, and Odyssey Pathfinder with Mrs. Tomlinson

2. Complete the two "Treasure or Trash" sheets in your Odyssey Packet You will need to use two sources- One for the front page and one for the back page.

File Not Found
File Not Found




Thursday, December 2:

Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. In Media Center for Noodle Tools, databases, and Odyssey Pathfinder with Mrs. Tomlinson

2. Research for sources to form a thesis


Friday, December 3:


Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Research for sources to form a thesis




Monday, December 6:

Due Today- Sources




Instructional Time:

1. Highlight Sources in preparation for writing of thesis statements tomorrow.


Tuesday, December 7:

Due Today- Highlighted Sources


Instructional Time:


1. How to write a thesis statement
File Not Found
File Not Found


2. Write thesis statement.

Due Today- THESIS STATEMENTS ARE DUE BY THE END OF CLASS TODAY!



Wednesday December 8:


Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Introduction Paragraph
2. Complete Intro Graphic Organizer. Can be found in your Odyssey Research Packet
File Not Found
File Not Found




Thursday, December 9:

Due Today- Intro Graphic Organizer


Instructional Time:


1. How to Write The Body Paragraphs

2.Bing Bang Bongo Presentation
File Not Found
File Not Found


3. Begin Working on Body Paragraph Graphic Organizer


Friday, December 10:


Due Today- Body Paragraph Graphic Organizer


Instructional Time:


1. Paraphrasing
2. Begin work on rough draft.




Monday, January 10:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:

1. Sort Binders
2. Comma Lesson with guided notes.
File Not Found
File Not Found

3. Homework: Create three sentences for each comma rule discussed in class today. OR write a paragraph about anything you want that has a comma for each rule somewhere in the paragraph. DUE: Friday


Tuesday, January 11:

Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Begin Persuasion (persuasion activity and PowerPoint with guided notes)

2. View and categorize commercials

3. Handout vocab for the unit


Wednesday, January 12:


Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Finish yesterday's lesson if needed.
2. Watch Commercials and determine (in sm. groups) the persuasion technique being used.


Thursday, January 13:

Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Read "Hearing" page 612 in orange text book
2. Analyze methods being used to persuade (in small groups)
3. Watch Michael J. Fox clip
4. Homework: Create a persuasive paragraph where you try to persuade someone to do something. Focus on one of the techniques we've discussed. DUE: TOMORROW


Friday, January 14:


Due Today- Comma Assignment. Persuasive Paragraph


Instructional Time:


1. RAG activity with persuasive paragraphs





Monday, January 17:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:

1. Comm Splices and Run-on sentences with guided notes
File Not Found
File Not Found


3. Comma Splices and Run-on Sentences packet. DUE: Thursday


Tuesday, January 18:

Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Complete KWL over Martin Luther King, Jr.

2. Complete the "Quickwrite" on page 600 in your book

3. Quiz over Persuasion techniques


Wednesday, January 19:


Due Today- Nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Read/watch King's "Dream" speech.

2. In groups, complete "rhetorical devices" sheet over the speech. DUE: TOMORROW


Thursday, January 20:

Due Today- Comma Splices and Run-on packet. Rhetorical Devices sheet.


Instructional Time:


1. Fact v. Opinion lesson.

2. Read "Private life" on page 622 in your text book and complete handout 79 over the text. DUE: TODAY IN CLASS

OR:

1. Registration FOR NEXT YEAR



Friday, January 21:


Due Today- Comma Splices and Run-on packet. Rhetorical Devices sheet.


Instructional Time:


1. Fact v. Opinion lesson.

2. Read "Private life" on page 622 in your text book and complete handout 79 over the text. DUE: TODAY IN CLASS

OR:

1. Registration FOR NEXT YEAR



Monday, January 24:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:

1. Apostrophes. With Guided notes. See page two of the attached file.
File Not Found
File Not Found


3. Apostrophe Assignment. DUE: Tomorrow


Tuesday, January 25:

Due Today- Apostrophe Assignment


Instructional Time:


1. Read "The Privacy Debate" page 628 in your orange textbook.

2. Complete sheet 81 handed out in class. DUE: Tomorrow

3. Quiz over Persuasion techniques


Wednesday, January 26:


Due Today- Sheet 81


Instructional Time:


1. Discuss the Idea of PSA's

2. View "Media Smart" over PSA's

3. Complete Sheet 101 as a class. Anything not completed in class is homework. DUE: Tomorrow


Thursday, January 20:

Due Today- Sheet 101


Instructional Time:


1.Elements of an Argument. Complete Guided Notes.

2. Read "Charity means You Don't Pick and Choose" (handed out in class)

3. Complete argument analysis sheet over the article. DUE: TOMORROW





Friday, January 22:


Due Today- "Charity" Argument Analysis. THIS IS THE LAST DAY TO TURN IN ANY LATE WORK OLDER THAN JANUARY 25!


Instructional Time:


1. Read primal Screen (page 640) in class and discuss.

2. Read "The Pedestrian" (page 642) in class and discuss.





Monday, January 31:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:

1. Apostrophes Lesson or Numbers Lesson with guided notes

3. Assignment.
File Not Found
File Not Found
DUE: Tomorrow


Tuesday, February 1:

Due Today- Grammar Assignment


Instructional Time:


1. Read "Homeless" article and discuss the argument being made

2. In groups, complete argument analysis sheet DUE: today



Wednesday, February 2:


Due Today- nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Persuasion and Argument review

2. Persuasion and Argument Quiz



Thursday, February 3:

Due Today- Sheet 101


Instructional Time:


1.Grammar review


Friday, February 4:


Due Today- :


1. Grammar Test (Commas, Run-ons and Splices, Apostrophes)





Monday, February 7 - Tuesday February 8 - No School


Wednesday, February 9 - Friday February 11


1. Watch Supersize Me and complete graphic organizer analyzing the argument being made.
File Not Found
File Not Found





Monday, February 14:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:

1. Numbers and Numerals lesson with guided notes

3. Numbers and Numerals Assignment. Choose your PERIOD- DUE: Tomorrow
File Not Found
File Not Found
File Not Found
File Not Found
File Not Found
File Not Found



Tuesday, February 15:

Due Today- Grammar Assignment


Instructional Time:


1. Correct Grammar assignment

2. Complete ITED-like test



Wednesday, February 16:


Due Today- SuperSize Me Graphic Organizer


Instructional Time:


1. Begin Persuasion Artifact

2. Introduction to Artifact via PowerPoint
File Not Found
File Not Found




Thursday, February 17:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Hand out artifact sheets and go over individual assignments

choose your essay assignment below

-pet peeve essay
File Not Found
File Not Found

-hall of fame essay
File Not Found
File Not Found

-social issue essay
File Not Found
File Not Found



2. Topics for essays are DUE TOMORROW

Friday, February 18:


Due Today- Topics


1. In Library for research




Monday, February 21:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:


1. Individual conferences with students about grades and missing assignments.


Tuesday, February 22:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Check over and revise claims

2. If time, begin research


Wednesday, February 23:


Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Day for research about your topic


2. Those doing pet peeve essays will need to create their action research today

Thursday, February 24:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Begin writing introduction paragraphs

2. Those doing pet peeve essays will need to perform their action research today

Friday, February 25:


Due Today- Intro Paragraphs


1. Finish intro paragraphs (due by the end of class!)




Monday, February 21:

Due Today- nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Individual conferences with students regarding grades and persuasive essay analysis



Tuesday, February 22:

Due Today- Adjective/Adverb paragraph


Instructional Time:


1. Introduce and begin Argumentation Essay
File Not Found
File Not Found


2. Create claims for essay

Wednesday February 23:

Due Today- Claim for argumentative Essay


Instructional Time:


1. Researching information for essays


Thursday, February 24:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Researching information for essays


Friday, February 25:

Due Today- "Research" page in your blue packet should be completely filled out


Instructional Time:


1.Begin step three: the introduction.

2. The first page of your "Your Introduction" section of your packet should be completed on Monday when when you come to class.




Monday, February 28:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:


1. Continue working on essay
File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found



Tuesday, March 1:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Continue working on essay


Wednesday, March 2:


Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Continue working on essay


Thursday, March 3:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:

1. Continue working on essay


Friday, March 4:


Due Today- Intro Paragraphs


1. Rough Drafts due

2. Revise essays

3. If time, begin typing




Monday, March 7:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:


1. Continue working on essay
File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found

File Not Found
File Not Found



Tuesday, March 8:

Due Today- Final Draft of Persuasive Paper


Instructional Time:


1. Continue working on essay

2. Hand in Persuasive Paper


Wednesday, March 9:


Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Review for quarter 3 test


Thursday, March 10:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Quarter 3 test


Friday, March 11:


Due Today-


1. Begin "Witness"




Monday, March 14:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:


1. Catchup Day. All assignments MUST be in by 3pm today.

LAST DAY OF QUARTER 3


Tuesday, March 15:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. ITED testing


Wednesday, March 16:


Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. ITED testing


Thursday, March 17:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Begin "Witness"


Friday, March 18:


Due Today-


1. "Witness"





Monday, March 21:

Due Today- Nothing




Instructional Time:


1. Review act 1 of witness in class.

2. Read Act 2as a class


Tuesday, March 22:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Review act 2 of witness

2. Continue reading act 2


Wednesday, March 23:


Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Witness Activity: in groups of 2-3 students will draw a character from the book Witness. They will then add three quotes from the character which they think best epitomize who that character is as a person. students will be required to explain why they picked they quotes they did, and how the quotes show who the character is as a person.


Thursday, March 24:

Due Today-


Instructional Time:


1. Read act 3 in Witness


Friday, March 25:


Due Today-


1. No school




Monday, March 28:

Due Today- "Witness" Act 3 questions
File Not Found
File Not Found




Instructional Time:


1. Quiz over act 3 of "Witness"

2. Begin act 4 of "Witness" Read aloud as a class.

Tuesday, March 29:

Due Today- nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Finish Act 4 of "Witness" as a class

2. Hate Crimes activity as a class.

3, Act 4 questions.
File Not Found
File Not Found
These are due tomorrow

Wednesday, March 30:


Due Today- Act 4 questions
File Not Found
File Not Found


Instructional Time:


1. Guest Speaker on Hate Crimes in our area


Thursday, March 31:

Due Today- nothing


Instructional Time:


1. "Witness" act 5


Friday, April 1:


Due Today-


1. Quiz over acts 4 and 5

2. "Witness" activity



Monday, April 4:

Due Today-




Instructional Time:


1. Witness RAFT activity.
File Not Found
File Not Found
This is DUE WEDNESDAY

2. Witness though Questions.
File Not Found
File Not Found
These are also DUE WEDNESDAY and YOU WILL NOT BE ALLOWED INTO CLASS WITHOUT IT!

Tuesday, April 5:

Due Today- nothing


Instructional Time:

1. Witness RAFT activity.
File Not Found
File Not Found
This is DUE WEDNESDAY

2. Witness though Questions.
File Not Found
File Not Found
These are also DUE WEDNESDAY and YOU WILL NOT BE ALLOWED INTO CLASS WITHOUT IT!

Wednesday, April 6:


Due Today- RAFT activity and Though Questions


Instructional Time:


1. Fish Bowl activity with though questions.

2. Wrap up Witness


Thursday, April 7:

Due Today- nothing


Instructional Time:


1. Background on Shakespeare and Romeo and Juliet


Friday, April 8:


Due Today- nothing


1. Begin Romeo and Juliet